As he can't afford a PS4, Hamster completes the PS3 games that he gave up on in the past

Snappy title.

Thanks to my time at Gamestation with 30% off pre-owned games and then thanks to my time in Japan with very cheap pre-owned games and plenty of curios, I've ended up with a large chunk of PS3 games.

Sadly I'm not very good at finishing them, or at least "getting my money's worth" (i.e. the hundreds of hours I've sunk into Oblivion and Skyrim count very much as money's worth, even though I don't actually care about progressing the story as such).

Anyway, time to right the wrongs and play some of those unloved and forgotten games.

BACK FROM THE DEAD #1: Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 3

Reason for shelving: Got bored of it I think, only about 12.5% into the story.

So, I just finished the main storyline mission (I never care about 100%ing something) after playing it over 4 chunks.

I was probably right to leave it in the first place.

You see, the first two Modern Warfares made it big and brought something new. As well as the online modes (which I played a LOAD in 1 and 2), you had the big set-pieces (plane hijacking, the airport terrorism etc etc) and you also had the "OMG" scenes (for me the nuclear bomb exploding in 1 and being on board the space station in 2). They were great. You also had Price who was a great, gruff SAS character who led you around and showed off his manliness in front of you.

call-of-duty-modern-warfare-3-pc-ps3-xbo

Bang, bang, bang, Soap's been shot. Bang, yawn.

3 still has some decent set pieces and I loved all the ships and submarines in New York harbour for example, as well as running up onto the streets of London, but it felt tired and overwrought. This time around it's trying too hard.

OH NOES! SOAP'S BEEN SHOT AGAIN! MEDIC!

OH LOOK! I'M WAKING UP AFTER SOME KIND OF EXPLOSION!

OH, WE'VE BEEN HIT OUT OF NOWHERE BY A MISSILE AND WE'RE GOING DOWN!

Etc etc etc.

Even Price can't save the day because even he seems annoying.