I own a record player!

Your Mom

I thought maybe I might try and start a little music discussion. I got a record player now! It feels really cool. I only own 2 records so far so I was wondering if any of you have one and might recommend some good vinyl to pick up. I pretty much like all kinds of music.

• Like 2

Why yes, I do own a record player thank you for asking. I have been buying vinyl for quite a few years now. I have an Audio Technica LP120 turntable powered by a Pioneer digital receiever from the late 1980s (replaced an Onkyo my dad gave me from the early 90s). Those go through two floor standing Cerwin Vega speakers bought in 1991 by my old man, also gifted to me. So my speakers that I rock with have been around since I was 6 or 7. Why all that information? Because turntable discussion goes hand in hand with stereo and speakers for me. All aspects of the listening experience are important.

image_7.jpeg

That's my collection thus far, it's always growing. 

Anyway I don't know about recommendations. I can say that amazon.com and discogs.com are fucking great places to find vinyl, between the two you can find nearly anything you want. 

Most of my collection is old punk, weird stuff like that. But I do have some stuff that might appeal to everybody...

Jimi Hendrix - Are You Experienced

The Stooges - Raw Power

Motorhead - Ace of Spades

Those three albums are rock and roll personified in my book. I think they're experienced well on the vinyl format. You said you like everything, but is there anything specific you really like? 

• Like 3

Here's my record collection, although my taste is very middle-of-the-road (I was raised on the meat-and-two-veg stylings of 2000s Kerrang and MTV2): https://www.discogs.com/user/cmew023/collection.