The Darkhorse

GRIFT

Prologue

Here I sit, at the bar of some run down old taproom in Puerto Rico. Tonight I had my last show with IWA and tomorrow I am to be sent back state side, but as of right now I am belligerently drunk. But we will get to that...

My name is Luke Ripley and I’ve been a professional wrestler for the past 5 years. My life for the most part is a tale of almost and never was. Sometime back I blew what little cash I had on training at a shoddy little gym owned by some old timer whose 15 minutes came in the form of jobbing out to the Sheik at a show in Roanoke. I bounced around the nation for a while picking up whatever jobs I could and trying to learn as much as possible. Luckily for me I am a quick study. Before long a could grapple almost any style, and I could managed to drag a good match out of a guy named Beer-Buzz. (Whose gimmick was that of an alcoholic bumble bee.)

I have spent the last few years struggling to survive in a business that is doing the very same. The lifestyle of the independent wrestler is not a glamorous one. For the most part I live out of a beaten old 5 speed Metro that gets shitty mileage, I make the same wages I made when I worked for Dunkin Donuts in highschool, and I have a very intense diet regiment of Chinese take out, beer, and pop tarts. Every now and then I have to settle into a town and get a job as a bouncer or some other various muscle jobs to get by, but for the most part I live on the road. Sometimes I think about getting a real job full time, but the sad truth is that I love wrestling too much to give up the dream. I live a masochistic life. Christ, I am such an idiot.