Meet "The Background Eraser" Tool

K

This is a thread about the Background Eraser tool.

You've probably never used the background eraser tool, and to be honest, I've been using photoshop for many years, I rarely ever touch it. The thing about the background eraser tool is that, usually, there are better ways to achieve the same effect. However, once in a blue moon.. the background eraser tool will be just the tool you need, and I'm guessing most of you don't know it's there.

If this thread helps a few people, I might write up some more.

So ladies and gentlemen, strap yourself in.. and we shall explore the wonderful world of the background eraser.

Now, my boss approached me a little while ago. She gave me a JPG like the one below, only a lot more complicated. I've simplified it for the sake of the thread.

original.jpg

She told me to change the background from white to a pale blue. And to do it quickly.

Now, without the background eraser tool, I would have a few options; Magic Wand Tool, Magnetic Lassoo, Color Range and Manual Extraction.

I considered all of those options, but vetoed them all for different reasons. I assume you know how to use all of those already (Except possibly colour range), but just in case...

Magic Wand selects every part of the image similar to a colour you select. The way photoshop decides exactly how similarly it should select is based on what tolerance you specifiy. So I could specify a tolerance of one, and it would only select pixels EXACTLY the same as the white background, and hit delete. which would leave me with this....

colourrange1.jpg

(I've darkened the background colour in these examples to show off the bad jaggies a little)

Or a really high tolerance, which would leave me with this...

original2.jpg

I've been trying now to find a happy medium, but there is no tolerance that would give me nice edges, and not remove the chair.

So no to the magic wand tool.

Next choice, Magnetic Lassoo tool.