Elden Ring

Maxx

From Software’s latest game is getting hailed as a masterpiece, Dark Souls x Breath of the Wild essentially.

Sounds like it’s a large enough game with enough secrets to merit its own thread, so we can share stories 

• Thanks 1

I'll be jumping in from the off which is a little unusual in the realm of Soulsborne for me. I'm normally a few years behind on these things (still need to play DS3 and Sekiro) but I figured I'd get in whilst it's fresh for all the initial intrigue/speculation etc. Plus it means I won't have the temptation of looking at any wikis.

That’s been the one thing I saw in reviews that bothers me.  I started playing Divinity 2 and it’s quest log/journal isn’t very intuitive or informative…and Elden Ring sounds like a step down from that.

I love the idea of the game but it being Souls-esque basically counts me out because much like Ruki said about himself, I'm quite shit at those types of games. I get frustrated way too easily and it just isn't fun for me. The rest of the RPG style game of it does make me want to play but I just think it would be a waste of money. I'll probably watch some people play it on twitch.

The lack of a traditional quest log would be in keeping with the style of the series, like going back to Dark Souls you do have 'quests' of sorts with the likes of Solaire and Siggy but it's never done in that hand holding, map marker, 'go here and do this' way.  But, whilst I don't really know anything on Elden Ring, if it is evolving into this broader RPG that the preview/review talk I have seen seems to alude to, it is a little quizzical to not have those same QoL features that you would expect in other similar titles, especially if there are more things to do, side quests etc. But I guess FromSoft/Miyazaki don't want to stray too far from their style.