Tell Your Favorites: Comics

Maxx

Series, heroes, storylines, mini-series, one shots, what you're into now...

Anything reguarding comics really. Just post your favorites and maybe why.

I went to my first comic book expo today, so I'm in the mode and interested in what everyone else likes.

I'll post mine in a bit

First and foremost I MUST suggest....

The Walking Dead

It is a zombie apocalypse survival comic, but that is just the premise. It has far more to do with the Survivors than it does the Zombies.

It also has the best writing I have ever seen in a comic book....period, and I have been collecting for nearly 20 years.

The first ten issues are available in two seperate graphic novels at a reasonable $9.95 (USD) and since they are only on issue 13, the others shouldn't be hard to find.

I also collect the G.I. Joe comic from Devil's Due, since I am and always will be a huge Joe fan.

The writing isn't near as cheesy as the old comic or the cartoon, and they are willing to take risks with storylines, so it doesn't come off as a kids book.

I also just recently starting collecting Batman again, and while I can't say much for the individual issues (since I JUST restarted), I will suggest the two graphic novels of there recent Hush storyline.

Intriguing, well written, and with a surprise that will throw any old school Batman fan for a loop.

That's it for me!!

I used to have the complete "Jigsaw Puzzle" series from the Punisher comic books. I believe it was six comic books in the series, basically detailing a huge battle between the Punisher and Jigsaw. I really wish I still had every issue, but I think only 1,2,5, and 6 remain. Weird that the two middle issues are gone, but oh well, somebody gave it too me for free more than a decade ago. I was always a huge Punisher fan, and to this day still think he's a total fucking hard ass. The Punisher will always remain my favorite comic book character, barely ahead of Venom, Gambit, Sabretooth, and Ghost Rider.