Naming Your Character

PkmnTrainerJ

In videogames where you are allowed to name the main character(s), what do you usually call them? I name them after myself, either:

Joe

--J--

J

Jay (Female characters)

Then, if I have a group of characters (see Final Fantasy) I name the squad after my friends. Oh, and my rival in Pokémon games, if nameable, is always Benji. (Y)

In Final Fantasy games I have a tradition of always naming one character 'Skip' (this came about from the demon in the TV show Angel named Skip, who I thought was frikkin awesome). In FF9 it was given to Vivi, and in FFX it was given to Tidus (obviously). However for the most part in FF games I just leave everyone's names the same.

I sometimes name the characters after my friends, most notably Disgaea where I have like 20 of them.

Well, post 5,000. Whaddya know.

I hardly ever rename characters. Especially not if it's my first time playing through the game. The only time I ever did first time through was calling Tidus "Lance" in FFX.

In games where you need to rename the character, I tend to use "Errol", it's the name I gave to my main character on an RPG Maker game, and it's a fairly good RPG protagonist name.

I always name them what they are called, but if their is no obvious names (IE: Pokémon, even if it is the colour as the main character), I name them Benji, I can't say I've ever played a game where I've chosen to be female/had to give a female a game that didn't already have one, though I did call Garnet 'Garnet' when you could choose to call her 'Dagger' in FFIX, as it just seemed silly.

Ever since naming Barrett "Ethel" in FF7 I've left the names alone.

There's just something about getting 40 hours into an awesome storyline and constantly being reminded that you have a massive black guy with a gun for an arm being called by an old woman's name that ruins the moment for me.

Ever since naming Barrett "Ethel" in FF7 I've left the names alone.